Welcome!

Welcome to my blog! As the name suggests, I am a volunteer at a wildlife rehabilitation center or, more accurately, I have completed initial training and will work my first shift on Friday. I do have a background in handling domestic animals as well as some reptiles, amphibians, birds and a few exotic mammals, but the species at the wildlife center will mostly be new to me. My previous involvement was primarily in education so it consisted of holding an animal and occasionally letting someone touch it. The work at the wildlife center will be very different and, I feel, more rewarding.

The wildlife center rehabilitates sick, injured and orphaned animals of various species found in California. The point is to get them better or help them grow up so they can be re-released back into the wild. This means I handle the animal as little as possible, I don’t make eye contact, and I do anything else in my power to be sure the animal does not become dependent on people. It also means that I will be a lifeline for these animals as I will be making sure they are fed and cared for in a stress free environment. It is a big responsibility but also much more interesting than showing an animal off to members of the public. I hope to actually feel like I am doing something worthwhile.

So, this blog will be about my experiences at the wildlife center and hopefully, they will be much more interesting than this first post. My volunteer days are Friday and Tuesday so look for posts around those parts of the week and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

